Here we go, summer . . . we’re off to the movies!

This is a more personal blog post. I want to get this particular blog back up and running again.

 

Here we go, there are just a few days of school left. I need to make up a schedule for the weeks he won’t be in summer school. I have some ideas for what we can do.

One, we could go to the movies. There are some local movie theaters here in upper Pinellas County (or close by) that have free or reduced price, family-friendly screenings. And of course, the Sensory-Friendly Screenings.

In Citrus Park, which is relatively close to upper Pinellas, at the Westfield Town Center, there is a Regal Cinema. Regal has $1 movies for kids, from June through August, at 10:00 a.m., every Tuesday and Wednesday.

Meanwhile, Cobb Theatres have free movies for kids, Tuesday through Thursday, starting on starting during the second week of June.

AMC Cinemas, of course, have their Sensory-Friendly film screenings. But not all of the films are kid-with-autism-friendly, like Wonder Woman, or Transformers. But, Cars 3 may be a good choice for some on June 24th. But we’re going to be at our local area Special Olympics Swim Meet.

So, another choice we may have, and others may have, is the independent movie houses that have family movies for a reduced rate. Last year, we went to see The Peanuts Movie at Cinema 6 on U.S. 19 in Port Richey. We enjoyed the experience, with the exception of someone shushing my son without knowing our situation.

Anyway, one other place I recently took my son to was the Sunset Cinemas independent movie theater. I really enjoyed it, and I liked that it is local and independent, and when I can I like to patronize small businesses.

So all in all, I think going to the movies may be one way to stay busy this summer, when we have some cash to spend. And patience to burn.

About Heather Dewey Pettet, Writer/Crafter

I am a writer, editor, artist and crafter, as well as a mom. I have done community journalism as well as written on my personal experiences. I have been writing professionally since 2000. I have covered community events and news, been a freelance copyeditor, and written on my experiences as a breast cancer survivor. I am also a mom to a great boy who happens to have autism.
This entry was posted in Autism Spectrum Disorder, Disabilities, Disability-Friendly Travel, Sensory Processing Disorder, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

