My Peter Pan

(I haven’t posted in a long time. Trying to get back in the spirit of things by trying something a little different. Thinking about the broadcast of “Peter Pan Live” got me thinking, and remembering things.)

I have been in love with the character and story of Peter Pan ever since I can remember.

I saw a stage version on TV when I was a girl, and loved it. I do believe it was the version with Mia Farrow from the mid-70’s. It’s on YouTube.

NBC broadcasted the original musical production with Mary Martin. She may have come out of retirement to do that. And maybe they broadcasted the same musical version with Sandy Duncan. I’m not sure. Both of these are on youtube as well.

Then in high school, I was involved with a production of Peter Pan (the original musical version). I wasn’t in it, I just worked behind the scenes. But the experience of it re-ignited a spark.

I ended up writing a research paper on Mary Martin for a theater class. Then, as an adult I researched J.M. Barrie and found the novelization he wrote. I like to pull it off the self and read it about once a year. So, I know the story and characters well. In fact I do remember that this month will be the 110th anniversary of the first performance of the original play, “Peter Pan, or The Boy Who Would Not Grow Up.”

Fast-forward to a few years after that, and I discovered that my young son had autism. It took some time to re-discover him and his abilities and gifts.

He, I know, will have a hard time with growing up. Kids with autism have a very hard time moving on.

I have called him “My Little Peter Pan” in my mind. He even has an elvish look about him. Especially when his hair starts to grow out.

He looks like a classic picture of a boy fairy, with his ringlets framing his fine features.

I’m not sure how much Kyle will grow up. But until then, he’ll be “My Little Peter Pan.” And I’ll love him for it.

About Heather Dewey Pettet, Writer/Crafter

I am a writer, editor, artist and crafter, as well as a mom. I have done community journalism as well as written on my personal experiences. I have been writing professionally since 2000. I have covered community events and news, been a freelance copyeditor, and written on my experiences as a breast cancer survivor. I am also a mom to a great boy who happens to have autism.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

